Alternative Politics

Alternative Politics is an interdisciplinary international journal committed to publishing high-quality research papers in all areas of politics and international relations, as well as papers that cut across other disciplines such as cultural studies, geopolitics, and political economy. The journal's editorial philosophy is to support a pluralistic approach to the political science discipline and debate. The editor particularly welcomes submissions that are inventive in their approach, cross traditional disciplinary boundaries, evaluate the relationship between domestic and international politics, or offer comparative perspectives.

  • - The journal is a tri-annual, "open access" scholarly journal. All articles published in this journal are free for everyone to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of its articles.
  • - The journal does not have article processing charges or submission charges. The authors are not paid royalties.

  • - The journal has high standards for peer reviewing in an effort to foster the most promising new perspectives and works and to encourage creative professional communication in political science. In this context, the journal uses "double-blind peer review" process for papers.

  • - The journal will check plagiarism for all the articles before prior publication.

  • The Journal of Alternative Politics is abstracted and indexed in:

    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Scientific Publications Index, Scientific Resources Database, Recent Science Index, Scholarly Journals Index, Directory of Academic Resources, Elite Scientific Journals Archive, Current Index to Scholarly Journals, Digital Journals Database, Academic Papers Database, Contemporary Research Index, EBSCOhost, ProQuest, Index Copernicus, ERIH PLUS, CEEOL (Central and Eastern European Online Library), ULAKBİM TR Dizin, SOBİAD (Sosyal Bilimler Atıf Dizini), ASOS Index, ACAR Index, İdeal Online, Gesis Sowiport – Portal für Sozialwissenschaften, ResearchBib (Academic Resource Index), DRJI (Directory of Research Journals Indexing), SIS (Scientific Indexing Services), Eurasian Scientific Journal Index (ESJI), Scientific World Index, and MIAR (Information Matrix for the Analysis of Journals).

    Authors can send their articles or book reviews via this e-mail address:

  • Editor:
    Rasim Özgür Dönmez (Prof.Dr., Abant İzzet Baysal Univ.,
    Gülçin Erdi Lelandais (CNRS-CITERES,
  • Editorial Assistants:
    Kasım Timur (
    Caner Kalaycı (
  • English Language Editor:
    İshak Turan (Bülent Ecevit University,

    Editorial Board (in alphabetical order)

  • Prof. Dr. Aksu Bora (Abant İzzet Baysal Üniversitesi)
  • Prof. Dr. Edward L. Zammit (Malta University)
  • Prof. Dr. Kamer Kasım (Abant İzzet Baysal Üniversitesi)
  • Prof. Dr. M. Kemal Öke (Abant İzzet Baysal Üniversitesi)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Berna Turam (Hampshire College)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Esra Hatipoğlu (Marmara Üniversitesi)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Filiz Başkan (İzmir Ekonomi Üniversitesi)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Hamit Coşkun (Abant İzzet Baysal Üniversitesi)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Pınar Enneli (Abant İzzet Baysal Üniversitesi)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Veysel Ayhan (Abant İzzet Baysal Üniversitesi)
  • Asst. Prof. Dr. Burak Arıkan (Sabancı Üniversitesi)
  • Asst. Prof. Dr. Defne Karaosmanoğlu (Bahçeşehir Üniversitesi)
  • Asst. Prof. Dr. Fatih Konur (Abant İzzet Baysal Üniversitesi)
  • Asst. Prof. Dr. İpek Eren (Orta Doğu Teknik Üniversitesi)
  • Asst. Prof. Dr. Nilay Ulusoy Onbayrak (Bahçeşehir Üniversitesi)
  • Dr. Evgina Kermeli (Bilkent Üniversitesi)
  • Dr. Şener Aktürk (Koç Üniversitesi)
  • Atty. Ebru Sargıcı

  • Advisory Board (in alphabetical order)

  • Prof. Dr. Aylin Özman (Hacettepe Üniversitesi)
  • Prof. Dr. Ayşe Kadıoğlu (Sabancı Üniversitesi)
  • Prof. Dr. Bogdan Szajkowski (The Maria Curie- Skłodowska University, Lublin)
  • Prof. Dr. Bruno S. Sergi (Messina University)
  • Prof. Dr. Darko Marinkovic (Megatrend University of Applied Sciences)
  • Prof. Dr. Füsun Arsava (Atılım Üniversitesi)
  • Prof. Dr. Mithat Sancar (Ankara Üniversitesi)
  • Prof. Dr. Tayyar Arı (Uludağ Üniversitesi)
  • Prof. Dr. Tim Niblock (University of Exeter)
  • Prof. Dr. Ümit Cizre (İstanbul Şehir Üniversitesi)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sibel Kalaycıoğlu (Orta Doğu Teknik Üniversitesi)
  • Dr. Rubba Salih (University of Exeter)